My Top 100 Movies of All Time Part One

aaawatch8

My top 100 movies of all time part 1

So I had some spare time a couple of weeks ago. Instead of doing something productive with this spare time, I decided to waste it on thinking up what my top 100 movies of all time are. Since I couldn’t think of anything else to post this week, I have decided that everyone must know what a bang up list I made. So for at least one post a month, I will count down my top 100 movies of all time starting at the bottom and working up to my favorite. Without any further ado here is 100-90 on my list.

100. All is Lost (dir. Chandor)

all-is-lost-2

All is Lost is the only one movie from last year that made my list and for a good reason. Most of 2013 actually bored me quite a bit. Everything seemed too glossy and a rip off of Terance Malik to really catch my notice or for me to remember anything about the movies after I had watched them. All is Lost however stuck with me weeks afterwards. A simple story of a boat trip gone bad does little to explain just how emotionally wrenching this movie is. At the beginning of the movie, we see the man (never named) feeling at one with the boat he no doubt had for a very long time. As his boat begins to literally fall apart around him after he crashed into a barge full of shoes, his love for the boat begins to become a liability. He stays on it for far too long and suffers the consequences. The scene where he watches his boat sink as he slowly floats away from it in a blow up rescue boat (something that you hope you will never have to use because those things are awful) is heart wrenching. This man fights tooth and nail to stay alive and it is captivating to watch. I really do think this movie should have received more attention than it did.

99. When Harry Met Sally (dir. Reiner)

harry1

This movie is a little bit of a guilty pleasure. Although I stand behind calling it one of the best modern romantic comedies, I understand that even saying that is dimishining my movie cred. The witty dialogue, the chemistry between Meg Ryan and Billy Crystal and its frank conversations about human sexuality (see the famous restaurant scene) all lend itself to being a great movie to watch on a rainy day.

98. The Piano (dir. Campion)

thepiano

The Piano is a great sweeping movie. Campion is able to say so much about the woman’s experience in the late 1800s by not saying anything at all. (The main character is mute) Each performance is dynamite but I believe the most interesting one is Harvey Keitel who plays the Indian love interest. He is able to bring an imposing sense of threat while also winning the heart of our heroine by being able to let her be free with him. It is quite sweet really.

97. Seven Chances (dir. Keaton)

Three Monkeys

In the eternal debate over Keaton vs. Chaplin, I usually side with the Keaton camp. His ability to take a by the numbers plot like this one and make it unique and fresh is enough to give him the best silent comedian award. I think this movie is this high on the list for the stone rolling scene alone.

96.Le Doulos (dir. Melville)

LD walking

Jean-Pierre Melville is the master of high stakes, low energy crime capers. That is an insanely hard thing to pull off. Le Doulos doesn’t always work, but when it does it is great. Being able to watch his entire filmography, thanks to the Criterion Collection is a real treat.

95. True Grit (dir. Coen Brothers)

TRUE GRIT

As you will see in next installments, the Coen Brothers are all over this list. They are easily one of my favorite modern directors. I love their sense of play that they encourage with the words and the weird character ticks. I also love watching Jeff Bridges act like a grumpy old man. So this movie was a match made in heaven.

94. Exit Through the Gift Shop (dir. Bansky)

Gaq1RHr

I wish more documentaries were like Exit Through the Gift Shop. Bansky was able to combine his trademark humor with complex ruminations on the nature of art and fame. Being able to get a glimpse into this fascinating world of graffiti art while also watching someone fail so completely at it only to become just as famous as Bansky or Shepard Ferry is fascinating.

93. Clue (dir. Lynn)

clue-1

Clue is an immensely watchable movie. I put it on when I feel like watching nothing else and within minutes I am wrapped up in this chaotic whodunit. The manic energy and wacky humor of this movie is just plain genius. I just wish they still made movies like this.

92. Remains of the Day (dir. Ivory)

REMNDAY-CTIT-CT-035

This movie is a great study in repression. Anthony Hopkins is head butler for a large estate going through some major changes. He must hire a new housekeeper and he finds his match in Emma Thompson’s character. Although he knows that he wants her, he refuses to let himself acknowledge that fact due to years upon years of repression and servitude. Both Anthony Hopkins and Emma Thompson are great in this movie.

91. Hunger (dir. McQueen)

2008_hunger_003-1

Oh, man is this movie really tough to watch. About Bobby Sands, the famous activist for the IRA who went on hunger strike to protest the inhuman treatment of political prisoners and died for his cause, it is a harrowing and sometimes deeply upsetting movie. This movie is what made me pay attention to Michael Fassbender (easily one of the best actors working today) and Steve McQueen who went on to win several awards for his movie, 12 Years a Slave. I still replay the scenes where he smeared his feces on the walls of his cell… it gives me the willies.

90. Z (dir. Garvas)

z

The political thriller to end all political thrillers. This movie is rife with political intrigue, scandal, and above all great acting and tight plotting. Not to mention that this movie was incredibly influential. Our modern political thrillers would look a hell of a lot different if it wasn’t for this movie.

2 thoughts on “My Top 100 Movies of All Time Part One

Leave a Reply

