Favorite Christmas Films

Christmas Day is historically the best day to lounge around and do nothing. Of course my idea of doing nothing involves watching films and eating. My mom and I usually watch Santa Claus on christmas together (You know the one with Tim Allen in it) but because I am away from the house this christmas and I feel like that film is extremely manipulative in ways that make me groan, I get to pick what films I get to watch on Christmas Day 2011. The following films are likely candidates for my viewing odyssey.

5. Elf (2003)

“Buddy the Elf, what’s your favorite color?”

After I have gorged myself on Christmas cookies and candy, I need a comedy that I will laugh at non-ironically in order to burn some calories. This film has got the required number of laughs per minute in order to burn 2000 calories (roughly half the amount of calories I usually consume on christmas day… I’m a fatty!) per viewing. Will Ferrell used to be one of my favorite comedians ever (before he did annoying comedies where he wasn’t funny and had serious roles where he was not good at acting.) and this film is his crowning gem. I love converting newbies to this film, although admittedly there are not that many left who haven’t seen it. Hell my one year old nephew has seen the film and can already quote from it. (just joking of course, but wouldn’t that be cool?)

4.  A Charlie Brown Christmas (1965)

“Of all the Charlie Browns in the world, you are the Charlie Browniest.”

This film brings me back to my childhood like no other film on this list can. This is my grandma’s favorite christmas movie and we used to watch it on CBS and decorate her christmas tree together. The dance, the small christmas tree and the cartoon snow all seem to instantly get me into the Christmas spirit. One of the cutest films of all time, I can’t help but love the film even with its too sweet ending and constant caroling.

3. Rudolph the Red-Nosed Reindeer (1964)

“This fog’s as thick as peanut butter…”

Rankin and Bass are two very important animators. They revolutionized and made stop motion animation available to the masses through television specials that still continue to air annually on American television. Rudolph the Red-Nosed Reindeer started it off and is the most successful of their Christmas specials. It is also my favorite of the Rankin and Bass Productions. I loved singing along with the songs when I was younger. Even though I think it hasn’t aged particularly well, it still symbolized the idealism of youth and wanting to do what you truly love instead of what is expected of you.

2. Nightmare Before Christmas (1993)

“What’s this? What’s this? There’s color everywhere! What’s this? There are white things in the air! What’s this? I can’t believe my eyes, I must be dreaming; wake up, Jack, this isn’t fair! What’s this?”

Back in the early 2000s when I went to high school in order to be considered alternative (and thereby cool), you had to love this film and own products from Hot Topic that featured Jack Skellington. It might have gone out of fashion in today’s ever evolving high school trends, but I still hold a soft spot in my heart for this film. I hate to admit it, but Tim Burton inspired me to love films. His best films were ones that I grew up with and admired to a degree of insanity. I am currently officially cured of this insanity, but I still think this film and Edward Scissorhands are two masterfully wonderful films.

1. How The Grinch Stole Christmas

“You’re a vile one, Mr. Grinch / You have termites in your smile / You have all the tender sweetness of a seasick crocodile / Mr. Gri-inch / Given the choice between the two of you, I’d take the uh… seasick crocodile”

As you have probably noticed, I have a thing for old animated television specials. This by far is the best of those animated Christmas specials made for television. I used have this on VHS and I watched over and over again, even when it wasn’t Christmas. I loved Boris Karloff’s voice and although I could never imitate it to my satisfaction, I would still go around the house singing “You’re a mean one, Mr. Grinch…” I miss my torn up old VHS copy of this. Where have you gone?

Honorable Mentions:

The Shop Around the Corner and You’ve Got Mail

As I have said before, my mother is a big sap for romantic films. She doesn’t always have the best taste for them, but I think that You’ve Got Mail is better than most. The movie that You’ve Got Mail is based on is even better because it stars dreamy Jimmy Stewart. Although these films only involve Christmas at the end, I think that they are both heartwarming films that should replace that over done It’s A Wonderful Life. (gag me with a spoon!)

Leave a Reply

