Comedy as a way to relieve to duldrums

Cover of "Killer Klowns from Outer Space&...

Cover of Killer Klowns from Outer Space

 

Lately I have been a little down in the dumps. I have been in the same mood several times, so that I know that the only cure for it is… comedy. This is no new concept to anyone, but I guess I feel the need to write a blog post about it. Comedy is such a personal thing to me and I am sure to everyone else. What makes me laugh is definitely not what makes my father laughs. However it is still a catharsis for both of us. This is my personal list of films and television that makes me laugh.

It’s Always Sunny in Philadelphia. With the new season just premiering on FX (which I have to wait until it becomes available on Hulu… Almost a whole day after… Torture), I would suggest watching this series and realize that you may be a bad person, but you are not as bad a person as these people… however you are laughing at these people so does that make you a worse person than them? I don’t know. Just sit there and laugh.

Stand up comedy of Marc Maron, Patton Oswalt, Maria Bamford, Tig Notaro, and several others. I don’t know if I have ever said how much I love stand up but I love it a lot. I love neurotic, fucked up personalities that spit out witticisms about the fucked up microcosm that we live in today. I love watching them open up their soul through the gifts they have to make people laugh. God. I wish I was a stand up comedian.

Bad foreign and independent monster and kung fu movies. You know the ones that I am talking about. If you are reading this, then you know which film you like the most. I love a lot of them. Killer Klowns from Outer Space, Godzilla movies, Kung Fu Chefs, and several others are ones that I have watched and enjoyed for several hours.

British comedies. Whether it is television series like the IT Crowd, Office Space, and Monty Python or films like Shaun of the Dead or Death at a Funeral, I find I love British Comedy so much that it does take a good amount of my time. Better to be wasting time with awesome comedy than to wasting time period.

Yeah I like a lot more comedy. However I got bored, so I am going to end this post right here with a phrase: “YAY.COMEDY!” Haha. Now that is funny.

Leave a Reply

