Favorite British TV Comedies

I recently started to watch the Mighty Boosh on dvd. This weird and absurdly funny show got me thinking about other British comedy tv shows. So here is my top 5 favorite British TV Comedies.

5. Spaced

I found this show after I became a fan of Simon Pegg’s from Shaun of the Dead and Hot Fuzz. This is where he got his start along with his friend Nick Frost. The show is about a loser who is tossed out of his flat by his ex. He finds a flat that is in his price range but the renters want it to be a couple. So he meets this woman (played by Jessica Hynes who has one of the funniest faces ever) who also needs a place to live and they pretend to be a couple in order to get the flat. They have wacky friends and weird obsessions that make the series witty and fun to watch.

4. Monty Python’s Flying Circus

I used to watch this with my dad when I was younger. When I was younger, I loved the physical gags more than anything, but as I got older I found out how politically witty this show was. This is a classic that needs to be owned by anyone who says they love to watch comedy.

3. Little Britain and That Mitchell and Webb Look

The reason I linked both of these shows is because they are both sketch shows. Both of them are fronted by two men who have a calvacade of characters that are awkward and hilarious. These shows are their modern, updated versions of Monty Python.

2. Peep Show

Created by the same people behind That Mitchell and Webb Look, Peep Show is a narrative show that is even more awkward and hilarious than their sketches. The series follows two roommates who are not good people. They get caught doing horrible things and that is where the comedy lies. I like to turn this on when I feel down on my life and think that at least I am not as bad as they are.

1. The Office

The first british comedy show I saw since I was younger. Ricky Gervais is so hilarious when he is at his most awkward with that creepy little smile. This is what got me to persue other more british shows. It is much better than the bloated American version.

 

 

Leave a Reply

